A Lazy Post; and Tribute #2 to Annie


Well, I don’t have much to say for myself other than that it’s been a busy few weeks, and most of the cooking I’ve been doing has been for other people (gasp!).  Tonight I wanted a quick, fresh meal, so I looked to my friend Annie and my mom for inspiration.  I apologize folks: this is somewhat of a cop-out of a post in terms of the expectations I set up for you and for me (i.e. step by step instructions, photos of the process, “how to pull it all together”).  I promise I’ll get back there someday soon.

In the meantime, enjoy this meal:

  • The most amazing salmon in the world (again, a la Annie and her magical Portland entourage!).  The only alteration I made was to add a dash of garlic powder; oddly, it’s an ingredient I almost never use, but it seemed to be calling me from the cabinets…
  • A salad of bitter arugula, toasted pecans and a white wine/olive oil vinaigrette (This is the ode to my mom, who told me she was making seared sea scallops on a bed of arugula with a balsamic vinaigrette and crispy bits of bacon; served with a mango, tomato, red onion and fresh oregano salad, a baguette, and rounded out with Key Lime pie!  Scallops were TOO expensive, so I opted for the salmon and decided to try out Annie’s recipe)
  • Baby golden potatoes; boiled until tender, then smashed and crisped up in butter in a cast-iron skillet
  • Grape tomatoes, sauteed with a little olive oil on high heat in a cast-iron until they are just about to burst!

An amazing meal for one

top

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

