Carnitas, Hash Style

What can I say.  I love hash.  Love it so much that I will make it for dinner, even when I’m really craving truffle mac and cheese.

I’d been sitting around the apartment itching to go shopping for all the expensive ingredients I don’t have (i.e. truffle oil), but knew the danger of taking my hungry stomach to a grocery store.  Instead, I decided to look to the fridge. Yesterday I made carnitas for tacos, and despite making quite the dent in them, I have substantial leftovers.  Amidst the ebbing and flowing waves of lustful hunger, I realized that the marinade for the carnitas – fresh orange juice and peel, cumin, garlic and chipotles in adobo – might be interesting to vet against an entirely different flavor profile: rosemary and garlic.  I was recalling – or perhaps constructing? – a vague memory of Puerto Rican pork roast my mom used to make which had lots and lots of garlic, rosemary and orange.

I peeled the eyes off some leftover fingerlings I had, and boiled them until they were tender enough to smash (my favorite method for prepping potatoes for hash).

Then I chopped up some garlic (2 cloves) and rosemary (a little over a tablespoon), and added a couple tablespoons of butter to my cast iron.  I let the rosemary and garlic flavor the butter for a minute or so before adding the potatoes.

In the meantime I got the pork out, and started to poach some eggs.

I threw the carnitas into the pan with the potatoes, and added a little more butter, because you know, WHAT THE HELL, you can never have enough butter.

Pretty soon, the potatoes and pork were warm enough, and the eggs were done…

The result was an out-of-this-world surprise of flavor and texture.  The sweetness of the orange in the pork marinade became a strong savory foundation when accompanied with the rosemary and garlic.  Bits of pork grew crispy and light, and the buttery flavor of the fingerlings was only exaggerated by the actual garlicky butter I sauteed them in.  A bite of egg on top turned the experience into edible velvet in my mouth.

Paired with a Leinenkugel’s (I know!) Fireside Nut Brown Ale, this was quite the nice meal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Carnitas, Hash Style

  1. Jessica says:

    Yum! :)

  2. adam says:

    Yes!!!! Well played!

  3. Joyce Berndt says:

    Your mom made the pork roast one time when we visited. If I really want to fix something special, I fix that.

Leave a Reply

